Gill Lapis, Usurper of Maddening Power

Card Number

ENW-087

Rarity

SR

Cost

WD1

ATK/DEF

600 / 700

Type

Resonator

Race and Trait

Wanderer

Illust

Nem

Card Text

[Will of Despair]

[Precision]

Automatic

When this card enters your field ⇒ Search your deck for a light or darkness chant with total cost 1, reveal it and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your deck.

Continuous

Effects of chants you control cannot cause you to lose life. (Damage causes life to reduce, not loss of life.)

Continuous

This card gains [+100/+100] for each other resonator with [Will of Despair] you control.

Flavor Text

"Come, Excalibur."

All Sets

Rulings

Now some chants say loss life and do SOMETHING and some abilities say pay life and SOMETHING are they equal or different ? Because if they are equal , then if I have the new Light/Dark Lapis resonator with the Malefic Tree , I won't loss any life points with any way .
"Pay life" and "lose life" are not the same. They use different words, "Pay" and "lose". Unless effects use the same exact phrases, they are not the same kind of actions.

Gill Lapis, Usurper of Maddening Power》 prevents only loss of life, the card's ability does not interact with paying life.