Runic Commander Demon, Akiot

Card Number

LEL-084

Rarity

SR

Cost

RB

ATK/DEF

600 / 600

Type

Resonator

Race and Trait

Seven Luminaries Demon

Illust

あき

Expansion

Legacy Lost

Card Text

Automatic

When this card enters your field ⇒ Put a mana counter on your J/ruler.

Automatic

When you play a chant ⇒ You may return this card to its owner's hand.

Flavor Text

The creature transformed, combining with Sol's magic.

All Sets

Rulings

I control a "Fayli, the Charlatan" and a "Runic Commander Demon, Akiot" in my field. I play "Charlatan's Tricks" target "Runic Commander Demon, Akiot" and I return "Runic Commander Demon, Akiot" to my hand. Can I search my deck for a card named "Runic Commander Demon, Akiot" into my field? Can I search my deck for an another card into my field?
If the target of《Charlatan's Tricks》is not there upon the chant's resolution you will not be able to search your deck for that card or put it into your field. If《Runic Commander Demon, Akiot》is on the field when you play Charlatan's Tricks targeting Akiot, his ability automatically triggers and enters the chase. It resolves before Charlatan's Tricks and you have the option to return Akiot to your hand. If you choose to return it to your hand, Charlatan's Tricks is the next card to resolve. During resolution the card checks to see if its target is legal as per the comprehensive rules section 903.3a. Akiot is no longer a legal target since it left the field, so you cannot resolve any part of Charlatan's Tricks that involves that target. Which in the case of Charlatan's Tricks is the entire card, so it will do nothing. You cannot choose a new target during resolution. If the original target is gone, then the effect fails to resolve.