Force of Will Trading Card Game
Use your J/ruler avatar and generate will to summon resonators and play chants, to contest against your opponent’s forces.
In this turn based game, players trade off amassing the game’s resource, called will. They then use that will to summon resonators, use spells for support and eventually use their J/ruler’s Judgment ability to have their avatar join the battle as well. Judgment abilities are powerful and can turn the tide of the battle in your favor, so you’ll need all your skill to determine when when to use this powerful ability! By using your forces you can attack your opponent, decrease their life points from 4000 down to 0, and win the game!
This card is your avatar. It starts the game with the Ruler side up. Each Ruler has its own unique abilities. When you pay your Ruler’s Judgment cost, it flips over to its J-ruler side, and joins the battle in the field with your resonators!
The Game Space
- Magic Stone Deck
- Ruler Area
Cards you’re holding that can be played by paying their costs. Keep them hidden!
You amass cards other than your J/ruler and magic stones to make this deck of at least 40 cards. At the beginning of each of your turns you draw the top card from the deck and add it to your hand. The cards in your deck are face down and their order is randomized.
J/rulers can call the top card from this deck into your field ⑤. Like your deck, the magic stone deck is face down and its order is randomized.
At the start of the game, put your J/ruler in this area with its Ruler side up. From here it can use its abilities and call magic stones from your magic stone deck. By paying your Ruler’s Judgment cost, it leaves the ruler area, flipping to its J-ruler side, to join the field⑤ to fight with your resonators.
This is the zone where resonators, additions, regalia, called magic stones, and J-rulers are put.
Cards with one time effects that have been used up, or cards that have been destroyed are sent here. All cards in the graveyard are face up and anyone can look at them, but the order of the cards in the graveyard cannot be changed.
|Resonator||The primary soldiers that comprise your forces. They attack your opponent, and protect you from your opponent’s attacks.|
|Chant||Spells that provide one time effects to support your strategy. Place these in the graveyard immediately after their effects resolve.|
|Addition||Cards that attach to other cards or the field itself to bestow certain effects. These consist of items or magical barriers.|
|Will||Playing resonators and using magic requires you to pay a certain amount of will. The exact amount is indicated on the card you wish to play.|
|Magic Stone||These cards produce the will necessary to play all manner of cards and abilities.|
|Draw||To take the top card of your deck and put it into your hand.|
|Recover||Recover refers to one of two positions cards may have. A ‘recovered’ card is a card that is placed vertically. To ‘recover’ a card is to turn a card so that it is placed vertically.|
|Rest||Rest can refer to one of two positions cards may have or a type of cost. A ‘rested’ card is a card that is placed horizontally. If a cost has the icon it means you must change that card from the recovered position to the rested position to pay that cost. This kind of cost cannot be paid by resting cards that are already in the ‘rest’ position.|
By resting() one or more magic stone cards, you can produce will. Use this produced will to play the cards in your hand by paying their costs, or play abilities of cards in your field or ruler area by paying that ability’s cost.
Using Will To Play Cards and Abilities
The card featured here has a total cost of three (shown in the upper left of the card), two of the will must be light will, and the remaining one will may be paid with will of any kind. Unless otherwise stated, a number listed as a cost (EX: ①) requires that many wills of any kind be paid.
Thus to play this card, we’ll need to rest two Light Magic Stones to produce two light will. Then we can rest one stone of any kind, to produce one more will to pay the numerical cost (referred to as a free cost) in the center of the cost dial on the card, for a total of three will. Once we have all three necessary will produced, we can use them to pay this card’s cost and play it from our hand.
Procuring Magic Stones
During your Main Phase, you may rest your Ruler or J-ruler (in the case of resting your J-ruler, you may not rest it on the turn it entered the field) to put a magic stone from the top of your magic stone deck into your field, face up. This action is referred to as ‘calling a magic stone’.
About Magic Stones
By resting () magic stones you have called you can produce will to pay the cost of cards in your hand or the abilities of cards in your field. Any unused will you have produced at the end of a turn, or the beginning of a recovery phase ceases to exist, so be sure to use it before these two clearing steps.
What You Can Do With Will
- Play a Resonator (Summon)
- Play a Chant
- Play an Addition
- Play the Ability of a Card
- About your Ruler
- About Judgment
- What is a J-ruler? (Judgment Ruler)
- It may attack and block just as a resonator would.
- Any card or ability that targets a resonator(s) cannot target or affect J-rulers.
- J-rulers may call magic stones, just like Rulers, except on the turn that the J-ruler was put into your field.
- If a J-ruler is destroyed, it returns to the ruler area with its Ruler side up. It then loses the ability to do Judgment for the rest of the game.
- Attacking your Opponent
- Attacking a rested J/resonator
- Blocking an Attack
What's Force of Will?
Not sure what Force of Will is all about just yet? Then this is for you! Click here to take your first steps into universe of fantasy, adventure, and strategy!
You’ve learned the rules, so what’s next? Click here to find out!
Download the play and rule sheets for Force of Will here!
By paying a resonator’s cost listed in the upper left corner of the card, you may put the resonator into your field. Unless otherwise stated you may only play resonators during the main phase of your own turn.
By paying a chant’s cost listed in the upper left corner of the card, you can play the card to gain its effects.
By paying an addition’s cost listed in the upper left corner of the card, you can put the addition into your field. Unless otherwise stated, you may only play resonators during the main phase of your own turn.
Resonators, additions, regalia, J/rulers, and even magic stones may have abilities listed on them with will costs that must be paid in order to activate that ability. By paying the appropriate kind of will, that ability can be used. For example, this card has an ability that costs one light will that can power up your cards for the turn.
‘To chase’ means to respond to your opponent’s card or ability with a card or ability of your own that takes precedence over theirs, resolving first. In this way you can play a card or ability that can counter the one your opponent is trying to play. Be careful though, as your opponent can chase to your cards and abilities as well, including chasing to your card or ability that you chased to your opponents! Players may chase as many times as they like, piling up more cards and abilities, so long as they have the will to pay form them. When neither player wishes to add any more cards to the chase, the last card played in the chase is the first card to be resolved, then the second to last, and so on.
Your chosen J/ruler card starts the game in your ruler area with the Ruler side of the card face up. It can be rested to call a magic stone from the top off your magic stone deck and it likely has abilities detailed on the card that you may play. However, most rulers have a special kind of ability called Judgment. Like costs, Judgments also have costs and sometimes other kinds of conditions that must be fulfilled in order to perform that Ruler card’s Judgment.
In order to use Judgment, your Ruler must be recovered, and you must pay the cost listed next to the Judgment keyword. If the Judgment has any other conditions to perform it, you must also clear those conditions first, before you are able to perform Judgment. Once you pay the Judgment’s cost, your Ruler flips over to their J-ruler side, and is put into the field just like a resonator.
You may only perform Judgment during the main phase of your turn. Judgment cannot be used to chase to any card or ability.
J-rulers possess the following traits.
A player may, if it is their turn during their main phase, choose a recovered J-ruler or resonator (referred to as J/resonator) and have it attack by resting it. When you choose a J/resonator to attack with, you must have an attackable object declared as the object of the attack. Attackable objects are your opponent, rested resonators, and rested J-rulers. Note that some abilities may allow one of your J/resonators to attack recovered J/resonators your opponent controls. In a case where you attack a recovered J/resonator, attacking it does NOT cause it to become rested. It is not necessary that a card in battle be rested, however it is required that you rest your recovered J/resonator to DECLARE an attack, and only rested J/resonators are legal attackable objects unless a card’s ability says otherwise.
Once your have rested your attacking J/resonator and declared either your opponent or a rested J/resonator your opponent controls as the attacked object, your opponent may then choose to use one of their currently recovered J/resonators to block that attack.
Only one J/resonator may battle at a time.
When a J/resonator of yours attacks your opponent, it deals damage equal to its ATK to your opponent. Your opponent then reduces their life equal to the amount of damage they took. For example, if your opponent has 4000 life, and you attack them with a resonator with 500 ATK and 300 DEF, it will deal 500 damage to your opponent, reducing your opponent’s life from 4000 to 3500.
When a J/resonator attacks another J/resonator the two do battle with each other. This is done by comparing each J/resonator’s ATK to its opponent’s DEF. In any battle, both the attacking and the attacked J/resonator deal damage equal to their ATK to the opposing J/resonator. Each J/resonator’s DEF is reduced by the amount of damage they take for the rest of the turn. If at any point, a J/resonator’s DEF would be reduced to zero or lower, it is immediately destroyed and put into the graveyard. Let’s look at an example;
The attacking resonator has 400 ATK and DEF, while the attacked object resonator has 500 ATK and 400 DEF. In this situation, both resonators will deal damage to the other. The attacker will take 500 damage and the attacked object will take 400 damage. In this scenario, both resonators’ DEF will be reduced to 0 or below, so both will be destroyed and sent to their owners’ graveyards. Let’s look at another example;
The attacking resonator has 800 ATK and DEF, while the attacked object resonator has 500 ATK and 400 DEF. Like before, both resonators will deal damage equal to their ATK to each other. The attacker will take 500 damage and the attacked object will take 800 damage. The attacked object will end up with 0 or less DEF, so it will be destroyed. However, the attacker, who has suffered 500 damage, still has 300 DEF left over and survives. If a J/resonator takes damage that does not reduce its DEF to 0, It is not destroyed, however that damage “sits” on that J/resonator until the end of the turn. As such, if the attacker is dealt 300 or more damage at any point during the rest of that turn, it will be destroyed.
If you attack with a J/resonator, regardless of what the attacked object is, if your opponent has a recovered J/resonator that is not the object of the attack, they may rest that recovered J/resonator to block with it.
When an opponent blocks with a J/resonator, your attacking J/resonator does battle with that blocking J/resonator instead of doing battle with the attacked object. Battle between an attacking J/resonator and a blocking J/resonator plays out exactly the same as a battle between an attacking J/resonator and an attacked object J/resonator. If battle occurs between an attacking J/resonator and a blocking J/resonator, no battle is done between the attacking J/resonator and the attacked object.
If a blocker is declared by your opponent, but blocker is removed from the field by a card or ability before the attacker and blocker would do battle, then the attacker does battle with the original intended attacked object as if the blocker had not interfered.