About Alternative Cards
We have seen many different responses in regards to the recent card frame changes. Some people love the new design; some thought there wasn’t a need for any change. This time, in Epic of the Dragon Lord, we are revealing another purpose of the new card frame design, and that is to facilitate the layout for alternative cards!
As it can be seen from the image above, an alternative card consists of two card faces, with two different card names, types and costs!
So how does an alternative card work? A player can choose which half of an alternative card that they wish to play, pay that cost and only that chosen half is put onto the chase. So in the case of Groundsplitter Rabbit // Split Heaven and Earth, if the player chooses to play Split Heaven and Earth, the cost will be [Fire] [Fire] and the card will go onto the chase as a Chant with the ability on the bottom half and go into the graveyard after it resolves. If Groundsplitter Rabbit was chosen, the cost will be [Fire] and the card will enter the field as a [300/600] Beast Resonator with the abilities on the top half. In the field, Groundsplitter Rabbit has a cost of one and is considered only a resonator and not a chant, so abilities that affect resonators with cost of one will affect it.
However, in every other zone except the chase and the field, the costs and characteristics of an alternative card are those of its two halves combined. This means that Groundsplitter Rabbit // Split Heaven and Earth has a total cost of 3 in the hand or in the deck, and it is considered both a Resonator and a Chant card. Also, an alternative card has two names, so if one of its names is referred, the card is considered to be referred. Meaning, if an effect causes you to search Groundsplitter Rabbit from your deck, you can choose to search for Groundsplitter Rabbit // Split Heaven and Earth instead.
In a competitive event where decklists are to be used, players should register an alternative card with both names clearly written. A “Groundsplitter Rabbit // Split Heaven and Earth” card is considered to be different from a “Split Heaven and Earth” card. This also applies to card legalities. “Groundsplitter Rabbit // Split Heaven and Earth” is from Epic of the Dragon Lord, so it is legal in New Frontiers, but not “Split Heaven and Earth” as it is from an older set.
Errata PofA-019 Alisaris, Minion of Lapis, PofA-048 Blazer, Minion of Lapis and PofA-092 Grand Cross Reincarnation