About demo deck
We will be shipping demo decks to stores that have reopened for in store play and events!
Feel free to take a demo deck and teach it to your friends!
If you are a store who has reopened, please contact your distributor to receive demo decks!
Use your J/ruler avatar and generate will to summon resonators and play chants, all to contest against your opponent’s forces!
In this turn based game, players trade off amassing Will, the game’s main resource. They then use that Will to summon resonators, use Chants for support and eventually use their J/ruler’s Judgment ability to have their avatar join the battle as well. Judgment abilities are powerful and can turn the tide of the battle in your favor, so you’ll need all your skill to determine when to use this powerful ability! By using your forces, you can attack your opponent, decrease their life points from 4000 down to 0, and win the game!
You can see the types of cards in Force of Will in the image on the right!
Your supply of cards that are ready to be played. Keep your hand hidden from your opponent.
Your deck made of additions, chants, regalias and non-Stranger resonators. You draw cards from your deck to form your starting hand. All cards in your deck are faced down and their order is random.
2. Magic Stone Deck
Your deck with magic stone cards, waiting to be called by your ruler. Called magic stone cards are placed in the field. All cards in your magic stone deck are faced down and their order is random.
3. Ruler Area
You put your ruler here. You can play your ruler’s abilities or rest it to call magic stones. You can also do judgment to flip your ruler into the field, as a J-ruler.
The area where you put your J-rulers, resonators, additions, and magic stones.
The area where you put cards that have been used up or destroyed. Cards put in a graveyard are faced up. Any player may look at cards in either player’s graveyard.
After learning the types of cards and seeing how the play space is set up,
we can play using the demo deck right away！
①Each player prepares their deck, magic stone deck, and ruler card.
②Each player puts their ruler into their ruler area.
③Before the game, each player shuffles their deck and magic stone deck, and puts each of them into the deck zone and magic stone deck zone respectively.
④Choose a player randomly, that player must take the first turn. (Rock, paper, scissors or a dice roll)
⑤Each player draws five cards from their deck to form their starting hand. Starting with the player to go first, each player may choose any number of cards in their hand, and put them on the bottom of their respective decks in any order, each player then draws that same number of cards from their deck.
⑥Start the game with the first player's turn.
The basic flow of a turn is shown to the right
When the phases (1) to (4) are completed, it becomes the opponent’s turn, and begins again with phase 1.
Let's get used to it while playing!
In the main phase, you can take the following 6 actions in any order you like!
You can also perform actions 2, 3, 4, or 5 multiple times in one turn!
A player may, if it is their turn during their main phase, choose a recovered J-ruler or resonator (referred to as J/resonator) and have it attack by resting it. When you choose a J/resonator to attack with, you must have an attackable object declared as the object of the attack. Attackable objects are your opponent, rested resonators, and rested J-rulers. Note that some abilities may allow one of your J/resonators to attack recovered J/resonators your opponent controls. In a case where you attack a recovered J/resonator, attacking it does NOT cause it to become rested. It is not necessary that a card in battle be rested, however it is required that you rest your recovered J/resonator to DECLARE an attack, and only rested J/resonators are legal attackable objects unless a card’s ability says otherwise.
Once your have rested your attacking J/resonator and declared either your opponent or a rested J/resonator your opponent controls as the attacked object, your opponent may then choose to use one of their currently recovered J/resonators to block that attack.
Let’s check some examples！
When a J/resonator of yours attacks your opponent, it deals damage equal to its ATK to your opponent. Your opponent then reduces their life equal to the amount of damage they took. For example, if your opponent has 4000 life, and you attack them with a J-Ruler with 1200 ATK and DEF, it will deal 1200 damage to your opponent, reducing your opponent’s life from 4000 to 2800.
The attacking J-Ruler has 1200 ATK and DEF, while the rested object resonator has 1200 ATK and 1200 DEF. In this situation, J-Ruler and Resonator will deal damage to the other. The attacker will take 1200 damage and the rested object will take 1200 damage. In this scenario, DEF of J-Ruler and Resonator will be reduced to 0 or below, so both will be destroyed and sent to their owners’ graveyards.
The attacking J-Ruler has 1200 ATK and DEF, while the rested object resonator has 800 ATK and DEF. Like before, J-Ruler and Resonator will deal damage equal to their ATK to each other. The attacker will take 1200 damage and the rested object will take 800 damage. The rested object will end up with 0 or less DEF, so it will be destroyed.
However, the attacker, who has suffered 800 damage, still has 400 DEF left over and survives. If a J/resonator takes damage that does not reduce its DEF to 0, It is not destroyed, however that damage “sits” on that J/resonator until the end of the turn. As such, if the attacker is dealt 400 or more damage at any point during the rest of that turn, it will be destroyed.
If you attack with a J/resonator, regardless of what the attacked object is, if your opponent has a recovered J/resonator that is not the object of the attack, they may rest that recovered J/resonator to block with it.
When an opponent blocks with a J/resonator, your attacking J/resonator does battle with that blocking J/resonator instead of doing battle with the attacked object. Battle between an attacking J/resonator and a blocking J/resonator plays out exactly the same as a battle between an attacking J/resonator and an attacked object J/resonator. If battle occurs between an attacking J/resonator and a blocking J/resonator, no battle is done between the attacking J/resonator and the attacked object.
If a blocker is declared by your opponent, but blocker is removed from the field by a card or ability before the attacker and blocker would do battle, then the attacker does battle with the original intended attacked object as if the blocker had not interfered.
This guide for beginners is based on the Quick Rule Guide, so if you are interested in it, please take a look at the Quick Rule Guide for more info!
A more detailed glossary is also listed on the Rule Sheet, so if you review it alongside the quick rule guide, you will understand even more!
Errata PofA-019 Alisaris, Minion of Lapis, PofA-048 Blazer, Minion of Lapis and PofA-092 Grand Cross Reincarnation